Winners I

The Super Dome has been a home away from home for the LSU Tigers in recent seasons, and it was the same story in 2008, as LSU rolled to a 38-24 win over the Ohio State Buckeyes to claim its second national title in five seasons.

Big plays on offense, defense and special teams (and an uncanny ability to convert third downs) propelled the Tigers on a 31-0 run to put the game essentially out of reach midway through the third quarter.

The championship gave Les Miles his first with the school and validated a program still trying to escape from the shadow of Nick Saban. For OSU, it was a second-consecutive disappointing finish in a title game — and a humbling loss all the way around.

Times Picayune Coverage


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.