Live from Salzburg – 12 noon EST   XM Radio

Noon ET (6PM Salzburg Time)
The Official Mozart 250th Commemoration Concert
Featuring the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Riccardo Muti. The program will include Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 25, the Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola and Orchestra, the Symphony No. 35, the motel "Exsultate, Jubilate" and a set of arias and duets. The soloists include pianist Mitsuko Uchida, violinist Gidon Kremer, violist Yuri Bashmet, soprano Renee Fleming, and baritone Thomas Hampson.

Intermission: 8PM Salzburg Time, the very hour of Mozart’s birth, the moment will be heralded by all the church bells in the city (more than 100 of them) pealing for seven minutes. During intermission, coverage will switch back and forth between the Festspielhaus and the castle location, reporting on the "people’s celebration" in the Mozart Platz and interviews with artists involved in the concert.

4PM ET (10PM Salzburg Time)
Performances from earlier in the week including Mozart’s Piano Quartet No. 2 with Emanuel Ax and members of the Juilliard Quartet and the Symphony No. 39 performed by the Camerata Salzburg.

6PM ET (Midnight Salzburg Time)
Excerpts from a special Vienna Philharmonic concert from Sunday, January 22nd. The program includes Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 14 with pianist Leif-Ove Andsnes and the Symphony No. 40. Nikolaus Harnoncourt conducts.

8PM ET (2AM Salzburg Time)
A rebroadcast of the Vienna Philharmonic concert from earlier in the evening, complete with the bells at intermission.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.